Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea


I have already reviewed this myself.

A Voyager Through Life

Ponyo on the cliff by the sea? This is actually the first film I watched from Hayao Miyazaki, and I have to say that the first thing that came to mind when I read the synopsis was “The Little Mermaid”. It was kind of loosely based on that story, but if you compare it closely, “Ponyo” is actually different in its own way. I’m a fan of both Disney and Studio Ghibli films. If you’ve seen both movies, you could probably see the stark contrast between the little mermaid and Ponyo, especially coming from the Western perspective (Disney) and that of the Eastern (Studio Ghibli).

The film starts off with a young boy named Sosuke rescuing a goldfish named Ponyo (who happens to be a girl). Their bond slowly develops into what seemed like an unusual friendship between a boy and a fish. However, Ponyo’s father, a powerful sorcerer, did…

View original post 406 more words

About hotcrossbungay

I am originally from Stevenage, Hertfordshire. I have Asperger's Syndrome. My main passion is Motor Racing. In terms of other interests, I will try anything once but I mostly enjoy Performing Arts and Creative Writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

