LAU’S 202, ELDON SQUARE, NEWCASTLE – BY MICHAEL C. BUNGAY


On Sunday 1st May 2011, I went to Lau’s 202 Restaurant in Eldon Square, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne with my friends Paul, Edward and Diane. The restaurant is an all-you-can-eat buffet and is mainly Chinese but offers different types of food from all over the world. The restaurant is very well presented in practically all areas, interior design, efficiency of the staff, hygiene and the quality and standard of the food, you name it. I had some chicken curry with egg fried rice and chips and I also decided to try the sushi and I loved it. I failed to realise the food labels were on top of the counter so I could not tell what everything was. For my dessert, I had some ice cream with toffee fudge sauce and melted white chocolate from the fondue bowl and I also had some marshmallows on a stick for dipping in the fondue, one side was plain chocolate and the other side was the white chocolate. We all really enjoyed going to Lau’s 202 and we were eagerly awaiting our next visit, especially me as I could not decide on a rating straight away so I thought I would make up my mind after my 2nd visit.

We did not have to wait long for our 2nd visit to Lau’s 202 for we went there again exactly a week after our 1st visit. This time, there was just me, Diane and Edward. This time, I decided to have something different, I still had some sushi and some egg fried rice but I had some lemon chicken and some french fries, some prawn noodles and a nice bit of garlic bread. I found the prawn noodles to be a bit too spicy for my liking so I gave them to Edward. I also thought the chicken was a bit dry in places and there were further qualms about the food when Diane and Edward found the seaweed was not as crispy as they had hoped. I at least remembered to observe the food labels this time and I had no real qualms about the food on the whole. The only real downside was the ice-cream vendor was out of order so we had to make do with fruit and of course the fondue, that now had a chocolate fountain installed on top of it, with the marshmallows on sticks. As much as we enjoyed the food as well as ourselves, we were not quite as impressed as we had been after the 1st visit so after much deliberation and evaluation, I have decided on a rating of 4 stars for Lau’s 202.

About hotcrossbungay

I am originally from Stevenage, Hertfordshire. I have Asperger's Syndrome. My main passion is Motor Racing. In terms of other interests, I will try anything once but I mostly enjoy Performing Arts and Creative Writing.
This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LAU’S 202, ELDON SQUARE, NEWCASTLE – BY MICHAEL C. BUNGAY

  1. hotcrossbungay says:

    Reblogged this on FOREST HALL FOOD.

Leave a Reply

