UNDER THE THUMB – MY LIFE AS AN ASPIE


My name is Michael Bungay but I prefer Mike. I am 20 years old and I have Asperger’s Syndrome which is a mild form of autism. Consequently, I have to live a very hard and challenging life especially when it comes to gaining my independence and proving that I can take care of myself. I am really a capable young man but not many people can see that because I have Asperger’s Syndrome, they feel that I am better off requiring support. I am currently living in a flat in Forest Hall, Newcastle that is run by E.S.P.A (Education and Services for People with Autism), for which funding is very hard to come by. I have had to fight tooth and nail to get my funding for my current placement to the extent of missing the whole of the last term. I am originally from Stevenage, Hertfordshire and the local authority for that area consistently tried to deny me my funding so much that my family had to get our local MP and the Director for the Board of Schools and Families involved just to get them to reconsider, by which time, I had spent a whole term at home with nothing to do and next year, the struggle is likely to start all over again. People consistently ask me what job would I like to do or what courses I would like to do. I can never give a straight answer because I am constantly worried the powers that be will refuse to give me a chance as soon as they find out I have Asperger’s Syndrome as that has happened to me so many times in the past. Because of this, I feel like I am constantly under the thumb and cannot overcome the thumb without support from my peers and family. I feel like I have been permanently branded the words ‘Aspie’ and ‘incapable’ by those in power and that they are determined to see me end up on the scrap-heap of life whilst they run to the aid of other Autistic folk. I feel like people are forever messing me about, patronising me and treating me like a hopeless invalid and not allowing me to show my potential. I maybe an Aspie but I am capable, I can take of myself, I don’t need support day in and day out, I can be independent and all I ever ask of this world is a chance to prove myself and yet there always seems to be an enormous thumb hovering directly above my head.

About hotcrossbungay

I am originally from Stevenage, Hertfordshire. I have Asperger's Syndrome. My main passion is Motor Racing. In terms of other interests, I will try anything once but I mostly enjoy Performing Arts and Creative Writing.
This entry was posted in Asperger's Syndrome & Autism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to UNDER THE THUMB – MY LIFE AS AN ASPIE

  1. Callum Freeman says:

    You are such a strong minded individual. I want to say ‘I’m sorry about your troubles’ but, the fact is, you don’t have a problem, it’s everyone else that has stood in your way that has a problem.

Leave a Reply

